

FINOLEX ACADEMY OF MANAGEMENT AND TECHNOLOGY

RATNAGIRI



TEAM REDLINE RACING

(All India 7th Rank)

KART NO: 60

TEAM CAPTAIN: MAHADIK TEJAS PRABHAKAR VICE CAPTAIN: MANGA ARFAT LIYAKAT FACULTY ADVISOR: PROF. TUSHAR V. KAVATKAR



EVENT REPORT



Team Redline Racing with team mentor Prof. Tushar Kavatkar for IKC

Briefing about the event, **INDIAN KARTING CHAMPIONSHIP** 2017 powered by **NEXUS GROUP OF INSTITUTE** held on $26^{th} - 30^{th}$ of January 2017 at PCNTDA Traffic Park, Pune. The journey of the event began with the virtual round where teams must submit their design report which includes analysis, simulation, cad models and calculations of the proposed vehicle. After submissions, scores were declared wherein Team Redline Racing achieved 23^{rd} rank. Followed by it was submission of College Level Technical Inspection sheet and Brake Test video securing A grade for the submissions? The team was hence set for the event in Pune.

The whole work was carried out at FAMT workshop with complete support, encouragement, guidance and advises from Dr. Kaushal Prasad (Hon. Principal), Dr. Milind S. Kirkire (Head of Mechanical Engg. Department) and Prof. Tushar V Kavatkar (Team Mentor). Mr. G. D. Targaokar (Registrar) provided the valuable support for accommodation. All the faculty members of Mechanical Engineering Department including workshop faculty members: Prof. A S Yekne (Workshop In-charge), Mr. Bhosale, Mr. Utekar, Mr. Lingayat and Mr. Mestri guided the team as and when needed.



Dr. Kaushal Prasad (Principal) Inaugurating the kart



Dr. Milind Kirkire (HOD, Mechanical Engineering) with Faculty Members during Inauguration

Day 1 of the event: Kart no. 60 Team Redline Racing cleared its Technical Inspection round in its very first attempt that too with A grade. Following T.I. the driver <u>Omkar Vichare</u> successfully cleared Brake test and Acceleration test, also in first attempt itself. Design evaluation and the presentation rounds were also completed with good answering and presentation skills by the presentation team. And then TRL was officially on the tracks of Indian Karting Championship 2k17.



Team captain with team members during Acceleration and Brake Test

With a new rising sun, day 2 begun by lining up to the handling events. Started with the skid pad test where driver should trace figure of 8 followed by Autocross where kart follows a zigzag path. Team redline successfully managed to complete both the events without a single penalty qualifying for the Manoeuvrability event where every type of events were mixed together. Hats off!! to driver's skill Omkar Vichare to complete even this round without any penalty in least possible time.



Kart 60 during Autocross

Day 3, the most awaited day, the Endurance race, for which hearts of each teams were skipping a beat. The race where the rigidity of kart is mandatory for withstanding the horrifying collisions of kart. Team's endurance specialist driver <u>Sandesh Jogdand</u> with his best skills, managed to complete the pre-qualifying endurance without a single dash and was leading the heat. But in sports, one makes the headway and others drop off. Unfortunately, team was not qualified for the final endurance. Team appreciated the efforts of qualified 8 teams. Something's were lacking which would have pulled team from being best.



Team Redline Racing Driver during Endurance Test

Finally the overall rankings were out and was proud feeling for the team when the team achieved overall 7 th rank in the event. The leap from 35th to 7th rank involved a great momentum offered by the team members.



Team Redline Racing Kart 60

After experiencing the event, team has concluded with few changes which need to be inculcated in the kart which were responsible for the kart's lag in the event.

That includes :-

- 1. Replacing CVT with Manual Transmission.
- 2. Minimizing the overall Kart dimensions.
- 3. Reducing weight.
- 4. Improving the designing parameters.

Listed below is the sensational TEAM REDLINE RACING

AVINASH R. GAIKWAD
NIKESH DALVI
PRATIK DHUPKAR
SURESH JANGALE
AKSHAY KADAM
VYANKATESH JOSHI
TEJAS P. MAHADIK (CAPTAIN 2017)
ARFAT MANGA
PRASHANT LAD
SANKET KEER
AMOL CHAVAN
CHAITANYA MHAPUSKAR
ANIKET KADAM
SANDESH JOGDAND (Driver)
VINAYAK PARAB
SHUBHAM MHADGUT
AJAY KESARKAR
OMKAR VICHARE (Driver)
PRATIK NAIK
AARISH MAKANDAR
AQIB MAJGAONKAR
ABHISHEK CHOUGHULE
SAURABH BOBADE
SHUBHAM CHAVAN
AFFAN MAPARI
SHUBHAM MHETRE
NIKHIL CHAVAN
GAURAV NALAWADE
VINAYAK MORE
SIDDHESH PATIL
SHRIYOG GIMHAVNEKAR
AAKASH WALEKAR
AMOL JADHAV